Latifa Laâbissi

Adieu et merci
 
Cosmos is everywhere, as was saying Marguerite Duras : «Here is everywhere, and everywhere is here» There is an agreement, and object, a show, a space shuttle. An object surrounding us (theatre), an object in front of oneself : oneself. It is the same. In front of or around oneself, it still is oneself. Farewell and thank you. The paradigmatic axis is infinite. Axel Bogousslavsky recently said in a radio show that Marguerite Duras’ voice — a distinctive voice — allowed to hear in its journey what was before birth (nothing) and what was after death (nothing). That this voice, being so rich in harmonic suggested : the cosmos of everything that can’t be thought of. Latifa Laâbissi has got this power, this witch power. Farewell and thank you. I am there, but for a short time. A very short time. She dances something which, for me, isn’t a solo but a quartet. At least. She deploys a war machine with many feelings, efficient and cyclic in order to understand what it’s about : this before and this after of which we are the crossing.

Biography


Latifa Laâbissi starts contemporary dance in France before leaving for the Cunningham studio in New York, where she’ll keep training. Since 1990 she works as a dancer and choreographer. She collaborates as a performer for Jean-Claude Gallotta, Thierry Baë, Georges Appaix, Loïc Touzé, Jennifer Lacey and Nadia Lauro, Boris Charmatz, Robyn Orlin. She creates L’âme et le corps duo and To Play (1998) together with Yves-Noël Genod, Phasmes(2001), and I Love like animals (2002). She cosigns Love (2004) with Loïc Touzé, initiates Habiter (2005), project published as an exhibition, Distraction (2006) and choreographed the solo Self portrait camouflage (2006), the play Histoire par celui qui la raconte (2008) and the duo Loredreamsong (2010). She teaches at different places : universities, art schools, architecture schools, choreographic centres. From September 2009 to January 2011, Latifa Laâbissi is an invited artist by Boris Charmatz to the Musée de la Danse, Centre Chorégraphique National de Rennes et de Bretagne. She manages the Figure Project association since December 2008.

Rehearsals at Le Phare from June 10th to 24th 2012
Creation on automn 2013
Representation on Fébruary 1st 2013 at Le Volcan during Pharenheit Festival

Conception, realization : Latifa Laâbissi
Dramaturgy : Yves-Noël Genod
Scenographic dispositive : Nadia Lauro
Costume : Nadia Lauro, Latifa Laâbissi
Lights : Yannick Fouassier
Sound : Olivier Renouf

Production : Figure Project, Rennes
Executive production : Latitudes Prod, Lille
Coproduction : Les Spectacles vivants, Centre Pompidou, Paris ; le Musée de la danse, CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne ; Le Phare, CCN du Havre Haute-Normandie ; Open Latitudes Network. Figure Project is supported by the Ministère de la Culture, DRAC Bretagne, the Conseil régional de Bretagne and the City of Rennes.

Latifa Laâbissi

Adieu et merci
 
Le cosmos, c’est partout, comme disait Marguerite Duras : «Ici, c’est partout et partout, c’est ici.» Il y a une convention, un objet, un spectacle, une navette spatiale. Un objet qui nous entoure (le théâtre), un objet que l’on a devant soi : soi. C’est pareil.  Devant soi ou autour de soi, c’est toujours soi. Adieu et merci. Rien n’aura eu lieu que le lieu. Axel Bogousslavsky a dit récemment dans une émission de radio que la voix de Marguerite Duras — voix si particulière — laissait entendre, dans  son voyage, ce qu’il y avait avant la naissance (rien) et ce qu’il y avait après la mort (rien). Que cette voix si riche en harmoniques laissait entendre ça : le cosmos de tout qu’on ne peut pas penser. Latifa Laâbissi a ce pouvoir-­‐là, ce pouvoir de sorcière. Adieu et merci. Je suis là, mais momentanément. Vraiment momentanément. Elle danse une danse qui, pour moi, n’est pas un solo, mais un quatuor. Au moins. Elle déploie une machine de guerre en étoile de sens, efficace et cyclique pour voir ce dont il est question : cet avant et cet après dont nous sommes le passage.

Yves-Noël Genod

Biographie


Latifa Laâbissi débute la danse contemporaine en France avant de poursuivre sa formation au studio Cunningham à New York. Depuis 1990, elle travaille comme danseuse et chorégraphe. Elle collabore comme interprète pour Jean-Claude Gallotta, Thierry Baë, Georges Appaix, Loïc Touzé, Jennifer Lacey et Nadia Lauro, Boris Charmatz, Robyn Orlin. Elle crée L’âme et le corps duo et To Play (1998) en collaboration avec Yves-Noël Genod, Phasmes (2001), et I Love like animals (2002). Elle cosigne Love (2004) avec Loïc Touzé, initie Habiter (2005), projet édité sous la forme d’expositions, Distraction (2006) et chorégraphie le solo Self portrait camouflage (2006), La pièce Histoire par celui qui la raconte (2008) et le duo Loredreamsong (2010). Elle enseigne dans différents contextes: universités, écoles d’art, écoles d’architecture, centres chorégraphiques. De septembre 2009 à janvier 2011, Latifa Laâbissi est artiste invitée par Boris Charmatz au Musée de la Danse, Centre Chorégraphique National de Rennes et de Bretagne. Elle dirige l’association Figure Project depuis décembre 2008.

Répétitions : au Phare du 10 au 24 juin 2012
Création : automne 2013
Représentation : 1er février 2013 au Volcan dans le cadre du festival Pharenheit.

Conception et interprétation : Latifa Laâbissi
Conception scénographique : Nadilo Lauro
Costume : Nadia Lauro, Latifa Laâbissi
Création lumière : Yannick Fouassier
Création Son :
Olivier Renouf
Remerciement à :
François Chaigneau, Yves-Noël Genod, Isabelle Launay, Jean-Christophe Paré
Direction technique :
Ludovic Rivière

Production : Figure Project, Rennes
Production déléguée : Latitudes Prod, Lille
Coproduction : Les Spectacles vivants, Centre Pompidou, Paris / Festival d’Automne, Paris / le Musée de la danse, CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne / Le Phare, CCN du Havre Haute-Normandie / le Réseau Open Latitudes / Le Vivat, scène conventionnée d’Armentières / L’institut Français / Ville de Rennes
Avec le soutien du Tanzqartier Wien et du CNDC Angers

Figure Project est soutenue par le Ministère de la Culture, DRAC Bretagne au titre des compagnies conventionnées, le Conseil régional de Bretagne, l’Institut Français et la Ville de Rennes et Rennes Métropole.