Gaël Sesboüé


 
What is man’s relationship to the planet today? Human activity is the main source of geophysical changes in the Earth, and these transformations are shifting the balance, disturbing ecosystems and threatening life forms. For this solo, Gaël Sesboüé drew inspiration from current scientific and political thinking, developing a form of dance that is at once powerful and fragile, inviting the audience to take a new look at how we live in the world.


As part of european project DanSCe Dialogues 2, Le Phare leads with South East Dance an «outdoor lab». Two choreographic project, one french and one english, will be mentored by Emmanuelle Vo-Dinh, choreographer-director of Le Phare in France, and Henrietta Hale, english choreographer. 

Biography


Gaël Sesboüé began dancing in 1983, studying in particular with Mirjam Berns, Carlotta Ikeda, Dominique Bagouet, Angelin Preljocaj, Régine Chopinot, Jean Cébron and Catherine Diverrès. By 1985 he had already produced a dozen short pieces, and starting in 1995 he began his career as a performer, collaborating on projects with Geisha Fontaine and Pierre Cottreau, Tamara Stuart-Ewing, Christine Olivo, Christian Bourigault, Cédric Gourmelon, Christian Rizzo and Xavier Le Roy. Since 2007 he has focused on developing the Cie Lola Gatt in Brest and created the solos Body west end (2008) and An selm (2009), the duo Le champ (2010), the quartet Relatives T (2011) and the solos Grammes (2012) and Le Gardien (2013) presented at festivals such as Faits d’hiver, Artdanthé, Hors saison d’Arcadi, Anticodes, Avignon, Agitato and Dañsfabrik.

Choreography and interpretation — Gaël Sesboüé
Sound — Vincent Raude
Lighting — Sylvie Garot
Assistant — Betty Tchomanga
Set — Association l’Ymagier
Costumes — Gwen Douget

Production — Cie Lola Gatt

Image du spectacle

Gaël Sesboüé


 
Quelle est aujourd’hui la relation de l’homme à la planète? L’activité humaine est la principale responsable de l’évolution géophysique de la Terre. Les mutations déplacent les équilibres, dérangent les écosystèmes et mettent en danger le vivant. Pour ce solo, Gaël Sesboüé s’est nourri des réflexions scientifiques et politiques actuelles. Il développe une danse à la fois puissante et fragile et invite le spectateur à porter un nouveau regard sur notre façon d’habiter le monde.

Dans le cadre du projet européen «DanSCe Dialogues 2″, Le Phare met en place avec South East Dance un «outdoor lab». Deux projets chorégraphiques pour l’extérieur, un français et un anglais, bénéficient chacun du mentoring d’Emmanuelle Vo-Dinh, chorégraphe-directrice du Phare, et de Henrietta Hale, chorégraphe anglaise. Gaël Sesboüé bénéficie dans ce cadre d’un temps de répétition au Phare.

DanSCe Dialogues 2, partenariat franco-anglais entre huit structures, imagine des parcours de développement artistique, encourage et soutient les professionnels du secteur de la danse contemporaine. Le projet DanSCe Dialogues 2 (2011 — 2014) a été sélectionné dans le cadre du programme européen de coopération transfrontalière Interreg IV A France (Manche) — Angleterre, cofinancé par le FEDER.


Biographie


Gaël Sesboüé commence la danse en 1983 et se forme notamment auprès de Mirjam Berns, Carlotta Ikeda, Dominique Bagouet, Angelin Preljocaj, Régine Chopinot, Jean Cébron, Catherine Diverrès… Il réalise dès 1985 une dizaine de courtes pièces puis entame à partir de 1995 une carrière d’interprète et collabore ainsi aux projets de Geisha Fontaine et Pierre Cottreau, Tamara Stuart-Ewing, Christine Olivo, Christian Bourigault, Cédric Gourmelon, Christian Rizzo, Xavier Le Roy… Il fait le choix en 2007 de se consacrer en priorité au développement de la Cie Lola Gatt à Brest et créé les soli Body west end (2008) et An selm (2009), le duo Le champ (2010), le quatuor Relatives T (2011) et les soli Grammes (2012) et Le Gardien (2013) présentés notamment aux festivals Faits d’hiver, Artdanthé, Hors saison d’Arcadi, Anticodes, Avignon, Agitato et Dañsfabrik.

Chorégraphie — Gaël Sesboüé
Interprétation — Elias Girod
Musique — Vincent Raude


Production — LOLA GATT
Aide à l’écriture — Le Phare, Centre Chorégraphique National du Havre Haute-Normandie en partenariat avec South East Dance à Hextable (UK) dans le cadre d’un Outdoor Lab / DanSCe Dialogues 2.
Aide à la production — La Voilerie Danse, Arzon

Avec le soutien de la DRAC Bretagne / Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et de la Ville de Brest.

Résidences / Accueils Studio / Aide à l’écriture : Le Phare, Centre Chorégraphique National du Havre Haute-Normandie / South East Dance, Hextable (UK) / Le Quartz, Scène Nationale de Brest / Centre d’art Passerelle, Brest / Le Mac Orlan, Brest / La Voilerie Danse, Arzon

Image du spectacle